Computer Association of SIUE - Forums

CAOS Forums => Technical Knowledge => Topic started by: JR on 2006-10-17T19:45:15-05:00 (Tuesday)

Title: i've got a question
Post by: JR on 2006-10-17T19:45:15-05:00 (Tuesday)

why wont a c++ program that i wrote run on another machine (which, incidentally does not have VS).

example, me compiling my graphics program on my computer and taking the .exe and glut32.dll to another machine only to have it not work. im baffled.


JR
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: William Grim on 2006-10-17T22:27:43-05:00 (Tuesday)
Hard to say.  What are the exact error messages you get when you run the program?
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: Ross Mead on 2006-10-17T23:01:25-05:00 (Tuesday)
Do you get error messages, or is the output (namely, the color) different?

When I was in graphics, certain programs (the hand and my final project) would have issues that would display objects as white instead of their actual color (or texture-map).  Dr. White had the same problem with some of his programs; neither of us found a solution.  I had read somewhere that this was common with ATI video cards, but I don't think that that's the only factor.

Describe the error or dysfunctionality, and maybe we can help you more.
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: Nathan on 2006-10-17T23:03:42-05:00 (Tuesday)
I did some looking around, and I think I found a solution,
unless you're getting a different error than I was.

In your project's properties -> C/C++ -> code generation, change the runtime library to something without DLLs.
I had to use Multi-Threaded Debug.

After that, recompile and try it on another machine. You'll still need glut.dll, of course, but it worked for me.

Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: raptor on 2006-10-17T23:23:23-05:00 (Tuesday)
whenever you build your project build it in release mode so the exe is not attached to any other files in the project folder.. i've seen that cause problems as well
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: JR on 2006-10-18T15:12:58-05:00 (Wednesday)

thanks, ill start trying some of these

in case you're still curious, here's (http://caos.siue.edu/modules/xoopsgallery/view_photo.php?xoops_imageid=256&set_albumName=album03&id=image001) the error message


Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: Geoff Schreiber on 2006-10-18T18:34:33-05:00 (Wednesday)
it's great you blurred out the username in the message box dialog, however, you forgot the title bar...
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: JR on 2006-10-18T19:47:03-05:00 (Wednesday)

haha, yeah, that was a good one on my part
Title: Re: i've got a question
Post by: Shaun Martin on 2006-10-19T21:48:49-05:00 (Thursday)
 :drunk: