• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Interesting Quote

Started by Bryan, 2006-03-15T13:53:30-06:00 (Wednesday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Bryan

EBGames posted their list of the top ten PC games, top ten console games, and top ten combined.  The #1 PC game and #2 overall was a game that comes with absolutely no copy protection.  When the game became very popular on the torrent sites the game compnay just sent polite emails requesting they take down the game.  No legal threat, no high horse, no nothing.  Most of the torrent sites complied and from there, they were done wiht it.  When an engineer for the game was asked he replied

QuoteI think the most effective way of increasing sales is probably to make games people want to buy. But I'm an engineer, not a marketer so what do I know?

I think the quote speaks for itself.

your thoughts?
Bryan Grubaugh
Quickly aging alumni with too much time on his hands
Business Systems Analyst, Scripps Networks.

Tyler

This is unrelated and I do have a slanted opinion, but I think this quote applies also to the Music and Movie industry. They like to blame piracy for lower sales, tickets, etc.  While this very well may have something to do with "piracy", they never seem to consider the quality of products being produced.

I never listen to the radio.  Whenever I do, it's always the same crap that sounds just like the same crap put out last week.  I guess this has nothing to with lower CD sales?  Same with movies.

But hey, I'm no marketer.
Retired CAOS Officer/Overachiever
SIUE Alumni Class of 2005

EvilAndrew

The movie industry has a different problem.  I believe that they made more money last year than the year before, and yet they say they are being hurt by piracy.  The reason they say this is because the decrease in theater attendance.  However, I believe that the decrease in theater attendance is caused by three factors other than piracy.