• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Must have PC for CS degree?

Started by Jarod Luebbert, 2007-04-18T21:41:03-05:00 (Wednesday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Jarod Luebbert

I have been using Macs now for around five years and I was wondering if this would hurt me while I am trying to get my Computer Science degree? I have Ubuntu on my iBook and run OS X on my iMac. I think I read somewhere that CS students use Visual Studio, so would it help to have my own PC? I would like to buy a new IBM Thinkpad, but I was just wanting some input on this.
Jarod Luebbert
Computer Science Major

Scott Magouirk

This is probably going to spark a huge debate. I'm a CS Major, and I use Mac (Exclusively) but I also dual boot with Vista which runs Visual Studio, for which is damn near mandatory for writing code, for me at least. I guess you could write with XCode though.

Matthew Thomas

I guess it all depends on what you want to do after you get out of college. The CS professors don't really care as long as it will run in visual studio on THEIR computer. Just ask Dr. White. I wrote almost all of my graphics programs in xcode, but as long as it built in visual studio, he didn't care.

Now, with that said, A LOT of developers use V.S., and rightly so as its a very good IDE. If you think you're going to go into C++ or .Net development after college, then you may want to look into getting a new windows machine, or making that Mac run Windows. (and no, you don't have to have an intel chip... MS used to make virtual PC for PPC Macs (G4's and G5's) which would let you install windows; It wasn't the fastest thing in the world, but it runs VS.Net)

As a side note, you could just use the computers in the CS lab. There's several labs in the EB, and the open hours are pretty generous.