• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

new job openings

Started by Rick Lynch, 2007-09-04T21:38:52-05:00 (Tuesday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Rick Lynch

Hello everyone. I'm new to CAOS and am a freshman here at SIUE. I'm interested in finding a part time job with 10-20 hours a week, and I was wondering if anyone had any insight on a job pertaining to the field of computers. I have searched on the Cougar Jobline, but no recent openings have come up. I have never had a job before in my life, which might make it hard to get one. Any recommendations or ideas would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance,

Rick
Rick Lynch - Junior
Applied Mathematics Major
(Don't let this fool you. I love CS as well!)

Kit

I know this doesn't really answer your question... but for the longterm (summer or beyond) I would definitely hit up the Job Fair. That's how I landed my job at Enterprise. I first did an internship with them and they decided they'd want me full time.

-or-

The Career Development Center (which I think is questionable). While they do help you a lot with your resume and getting you exposed to a lot of different companies, I really was looking for a paid internship, which they didn't have any of. However, if you're looking for coops, the CDC is the place to go.

Meantime... I'd suggest a job on campus since it is convenient, although it probably won't be with computers unless you're lucky.

Good luck!

More info:
http://www.siue.edu/careerdevelopmentcenter/events.shtml
SIUe Computer Science Graduate

Rick Lynch

It answers my question to an extent. It certainly helps me know where to start. Thanks a lot!
Rick Lynch - Junior

Kit

Jesse Cook