• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

CMIS? Computer Engineering? Computer Science?

Started by Eric, 2007-12-09T15:04:11-06:00 (Sunday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Eric

I'm a freshman with an undecided major here at SIUe.  I'm undecided on whether I should do CMIS, Computer Engineering, or Computer Science.  I believe that Engineering would probably involve more of the hardware components and Science would do more of the coding, but I'm still unsure about which one I would be more interested in.  I've heard that Engineering pays more though.  I know money isn't supposed to be a factor in what I want to do, but if the Engineering degree pays significantly more, I may consider it.

I did also consult Jerry Weinberg before coming here, but he referred me here.

Gregory Bartholomew

I doubt that you could get a very unbiased responce from this forum seeing that it's members are mostly from Computer Science.

I had the exact same decision to make when I started college. I was told (by whom I don't remember (though I think it was Eric Stueber)) that CMIS was the easiest, CS in between, and ECE the most difficult. I do know that CS is more challenging than CMIS but I am not sure how much difference there is in difficulty between ECE and CS (you might ask Kade Cole as he has degrees in both). I took the middle road, figuring that I could fall back to CMIS if it was too hard or take ECE courses as well if I decided that I wanted more of a challenge.

Also, how much it pays sounds,to me, like a very good reason to favor one carrier over another.

gb

my_handle