• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Developer needed for online shopping concept

Started by Guest, 2002-12-04T14:07:27-06:00 (Wednesday)

Previous topic - Next topic

I'm an MBA student at SIUE working on a concept to increase the penetration and acceptance of shopping for groceries online.  The grocery industry has annual revenues around $500 billion.  Currently less than 1% of these revenues are collected from online services.  I'm looking for a developer skilled in C/C++ (Visual Studio) or VB, JAVA, TCP/IP networking, and site design to help develop a prototype.  I can't afford to pay anyone at this point, but I am willing to offer a percentage of firm ownership or guaranteed payment when/if the project gets funded or has positive cash flow.  In the mean time, it might be a great opportunity to learn about the ins and outs of starting a technology focused business.  If you are interested and would like to learn more please contact me via email at a.c.c@onebox.com or via phone at (877) 879-0136.  Thanks.
Andrew Coffin

QuoteI can't afford to pay anyone at this point, but I am willing to offer a percentage of firm ownership or guaranteed payment when/if the project gets funded or has positive cash flow.

For all those reading this. I'm currently in a deal a lot like this where all profits are shared 50/50.  It's been a year since version one was completed and there has been some money made but not nearly as was hoped. We are well into a year and a half and are working on version two right now. The biggest problem that we faced since it was a startup project with no funding behind it was marketing costs. That is the only way to make a dime on any app. You can learn a lot but don't expect a lot. Above anything else look for a contract based relationship because anything less would look just like some college coding project you spent some time on for your resume.