• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Pirates Ahoy!

Started by Josh, 2003-04-26T01:37:18-05:00 (Saturday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Josh

I would like to start a discussion about a hot topic in today’s world. Piracy--the unauthorized use of another's production, invention, or conception especially in infringement of a copyright. Today copyright seems to refer to art and art is entertainment such as books, movies, and music.  I also think software is a form of art. As a programmer myself, I see software to the information age as painting was to Renaissance.
Piracy seems to be pretty wide spread today in a world flood with Napster type clones. Are the people who download music/movie/software criminals? Should they go to prison?
   I am really split on this issue; on the one hand I think artists aka programmers should get paid for their work. But I am a poor college student and can see the temptation to become a pirate. I look at this wayâ€ââ,¬ÂI can go to the library and check any book I want (most library now have cd’s and movie too). Doing so doesn’t make me a criminal. I can get a TIVO and watch what I want when I want. What is the different between that and downloading the same stuff from the Internet?  

I would like to get some more feedback on this issue. So post your replies

Josh Cunningham
"I am a hunter of peace..."--Vash, Trigun......

William Grim

The difference is that you pay for the library and the TIVO.
William Grim
IT Associate, Morgan Stanley

Aaron Drake

Here's a question for all of you: Since I pay for the library (with my tax dollars), does that mean that if the library provides CDs, I can ethically/legally rip songs from those CDs, convert them to MP3s, and keep them on my hard drive for use whenever I want?
"Cooda is a whatah?" - Dr. Wu

Michael Kennedy

That's a good question.  Most libraries have DVDs there too, so you could rip/copy them at will if that is legal.  Interesting...