• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Alumni Popping In

Started by Guest, 2004-07-27T21:02:23-05:00 (Tuesday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Greetingz all. I'm a CS alumni from '92. I thought I'd pop in and check out the forums here. I see from the Computer Science dept web page that a couple of my classmates are professors now. ;) Congrads or commiserations whichever is appropriate. Heh.

I've worked in various CS jobs in the St Louis area since graduating. Lately I'm working as a consultant for Lockheed Martin in O'Fallon. There are a number of SIUE alums there, too.

Any other alums on these forums?

DaleDoe

I graduated with my Master's this Spring and I'm working for your arch rival, Boeing.  (actually, Lockheed is the biggest customer of the software my group is making, but you didn't hear that).

Several people from SIUE work at Boeing.  I can name 5 from the CS dept. that have got jobs after I did.  Another one sits across the cube from me.
"If Tyranny and Oppression come to this land, it will be in the guise of fighting a foreign enemy." -James Madison

Jerry

Hi Tom,

I know there are other alum lurking on our list: Peter, Kade, Gary, and others.

Besides hearing where you are at, I would be interested in hearing the alum your favorite faculty story. For your recent grads, don't worry I'll be sure no one revokes your diploma  ;-) .

"Make a Little Bird House in Your Soul" - TMBG...

DaleDoe

My favorite CS faculty stories involve (often out of context) quotes.  My personal favorites belong to Dr. Wu, as I've shared some with you a while back, Jerry.  But I've got a couple that shouldn't offend anyone.

Dr. Stephen:  "All of the great computer scientists either work at Microsoft or are dead." :-o

Dr. Ehlmann:  "I've lost it!" :help:

Dr. Fujinoki (when students wouldn't quit writing when time was up):  "Hands up!"
"If Tyranny and Oppression come to this land, it will be in the guise of fighting a foreign enemy." -James Madison

Peter Motyka