• Welcome to Computer Association of SIUE - Forums.

Seen & Heard: The steps of Big Brother

Started by Jerry, 2004-08-16T10:39:40-05:00 (Monday)

Previous topic - Next topic

Jerry

A radio news report stated that some auto insurance companies are offering discounts if you allow them to install a gps device in your car that records where and how often you drive your car  :-o

Yeah, discount for some, most likely an increase for most.

Drive through a high crime area on your way to work, take a route that is shorter but has a few more car wrecks, park in a parking lot of a liquor store (whether your buying or not), go to any place they don't approve of, and, of course, calculating your speed will be easy enough.

Wireless technology will usher in a whole new batch of privacy vs public interest controversies.
"Make a Little Bird House in Your Soul" - TMBG...

DaleDoe

Just what I need.  A bunch more statistics that say I'm a high-risk driver even though I've never been in a wreck or been issued a ticket.

Quotecalculating your speed will be easy enough.
I haven't seen a GPS that can accurately give vehicle speed, so I'm sure it just plugs into the onboard computer system (Simple on '96 models or newer).  That means there is a simple fix: Taller tires will throw the spedometer off.  Also, it wouldn't be that difficult to make an electronic device that will alter/generate speed information.:shifty:

Also, what happens if I get my car stuck on the ice again?  I wonder how much the rates will go up for "driving" at 140 MPH for about two minutes.:banned:
"If Tyranny and Oppression come to this land, it will be in the guise of fighting a foreign enemy." -James Madison

Jerry

I was thinking something a little simpler than recording your spedometer readings.

Given two locations and the time stamps that you were at those locations it is a quick calculation to determine the average speed you must have been going to get from point A to point B.